top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Harris

3 mistakes I made with my puppy


Our first vet visit

Getting a new puppy can be equally exciting as it is overwhelming. After the "gotcha day" has come and gone, the real work begins at home. Kali is the first puppy I have raised on my own from 8 weeks old. I chose the German Shepherd because I wanted a loyal and intelligent companion that I could co-exist with both inside and outside the home. I knew she was going to be a lot of work, but I don't really think I knew what I was in for. After about 6 weeks I was technically keeping her alive (WIN!), but I felt inadequate when it came to her training and behavior. Potty training was not going well, and she had a ton of anxiety. It was then I decided to dive in and start learning. I began to follow and engage with online accounts offering free advice, I got books, watched videos, and hired a professional trainer.


Of course hindset is always 20/20, and my goal is to share my experience with you in order to offer some insight. Here are the top 3 mistakes I believe I made with Kali:

1. I didn't teach leash pressure early enough.

First leash

Especially with large breeds, you have to monitor exercise at an early age to prevent potential joint damage. For the first three months I had Kali, I would carry her up and down the stairs and we would only go on very short walks (a few hundred feet). We did play quite a bit inside, but that was not structured nor used as a training opportunity. The other time I worked with her on lease was during those short walks. I have learned that leash pressure and mastering the structured walk is one of the most important fundamental of building focus and strengthening the relationship dynamic between you and your dog. There were many missed opportunities where I could have started this work indoors at a young age. Because Kali is very intelligent and has a high drive, she is easily stimulated and distracted once we get outside. I could have solidified our leash work and taught leash pressure at a younger age, when she was more receptive and not as strong yet. This would have bullet-proofed our bond to override her desire to react to distractions once we did go outside and introduce more stimulus.


 

2. I didn't take advantage of her food motivation.


Food coma at 3 weeks

Kali was extremely food motivated until about 8 months. She now requires higher value treats, but when she was younger (and growing like a weed), she would work hard just for a single bite of her regular food. Your puppy's motivations and preferences may change over time, and I have learned that is normal. Kali loves certain toys now, that she wouldn't touch 6 months ago. From the day I brought her home, I should have started a hand-feeding routine with her. This would have leveraged her food motivation and started to build that bond between us that I would later need to maintain her focus amidst distractions. We did start hand-feeding around 5 months, but I wish I had started earlier. I have noticed a dramatic difference in her focus and eye-contact with me since incorporating this into our routine. My recommendation is making your puppy work for its food. Even if that "work" is just looking at you, coming to you, or being in a calm state of mind. Start to plant the seeds of "If I do this, then I get a reward" with every piece of food they earn.

 

3. I didn't let her sleep enough.

I take a nap now

When I got Kali, I had taken some time off work to spend with her and make sure she got enough attention. But looking back on it now, I think I gave her too much attention the first few months. She was just so cute and I wanted to play with her all day and teach her things. All my friends wanted to meet her too, so she often rode in the car with me and was exposed to a lot of new people and social situations. I wanted her to be my little sidekick at 3 months old, but that's not really what was best for her. They say "never wake a sleeping baby", and I'm going to say the same is true for puppies. Being a large breed as well, Kali needed her sleep. Once I realized I may have been short-changing her rest, I left her alone a little bit more. Interestingly enough, I found that if I gave her space she would, in fact, sleep more. I also notice that her temperament and behavior improved. Sometimes all she needed was a nap! As tempting as it is to show off and smother a new puppy (which is actually selfish), what is best for them is to allow them to sleep as much as needed. Their physical and mental health will thank you for it.

 

Do I beat myself up over making mistakes? Absolutely not. I did the best I could at the time with the information and experience I had been given. But I hope to share more about my journey in hopes that others can learn from my mistakes. There is so much to understand about your puppy that it can be overwhelming. What I can also tell you, is that figured it all out can be incredible empowering.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page