top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Harris

How my dog saved me

Updated: Jun 8, 2021

The bond between owner and dog is truly special, lifelong, and can sometimes come at a time in our journey when we feel unwanted. I was at that point in my life when I got Kali.


I was going through a tough breakup, financial and emotional burnout, and just a lot of loneliness when I got Kali in September of 2020. COVID had stripped any resemblance of a normal social life, and my other dog had recently passed in late 2019. The house was too quiet and it felt like there was a hole in my heart that was very empty. Dogs were always a part of the family, as long as I can remember growing up. There is nothing quite like the joy of a puppy kiss, or an uncontrollable tail wagging when it sees you. Kali was the last pick of the litter. The runt. But she is exactly the dog I was supposed to get, even though I technically did not choose her. She cried for about 10 minutes in the car after leaving mom, and then she took a nap on my lap. She knew she was safe and was going to her home. She slept all the way through her first night at home in the crate-12 hours.

I've had Kali for 8 months now, and I honestly don't know how I would have made it through without her. She has given me confidence and joy in my life again. She has given me purpose and motivated me to be a better trainer and advocate for her. She has helped me work through periods of loneliness, depression, and anxiety. But most of all she has given me a chance to love. Love for her, love for myself, and love of the present moment that I get to spend with her. She helps to slow me down and not take those precious moments for granted. Those little moments are really the big moments in life.


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page